Working Women: #18 Sasha Armstrong

07MiddleClassStoryTerm2JaneBerg

Sasha Armstrong holds one of her products at Happy Living, New Street, Grahamstown.

“I need to be creative so at the moment it’s just jewelry but I’m hoping to move on to some bigger things,” said Sasha Armstrong owner of That’s Random.

“I studied art and graduated with a BFA, but then I got stuck in admin and finance so this is like my escape to stay sane,” said Sasha.

Her main challenges are time, as she is employed at the Rhodes Environmental Learning and Research Centre, and space, as she lives in a one bedroom flat.

“And when I’m working I’m the kind of person who likes to leave my canvas and art supplies out and everything, so that’s why I’ve had to keep it small scale,” said Sasha. “The name is just something I always used to say, and it’s also because it’s just little bits of things, really just till I know what I’m going to do,” she said.


South Africa commemorates Women’s Month in August as a tribute to the more than 20 000 women who marched to the Union Buildings on 9 August 1956 in protest against the extension of Pass Laws to women. This August, GAP is publishing a micro-profile a day on women working in Grahamstown in 2015.


About the photographer: Jane Berg is a photojournalist working in Grahamstown and finishing her Bachelor of Journalism Degree at Rhodes University. She is the Media Officer for The Gender Action Project. You can see more of her work at www.janebergphotography.tumblr.com and on her Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

